Coat of arms of the city of Canberra

The castle in the arms has three towers, which signify dignity, importance and grandeur of the city. The sword of justice represents the national authority. The mace symbolises the law making power. The crown shows the role of the sovereign in Australian government.
The rose is the rose of York, which commemorates the contribution of the Duke of York in establishing Canberra as the seat of government. The portcullis or gate above the arms are the link to the arms of Westminster in England, seat of the British parliament. Behind the porticullis is a gum tree, which represents growth and progress of the city. The swans symbolise the Aboriginal and European people.

Coat of arms of the State of Victoria

In 1910 King George V granted a coat of arms to the state of Victoria, which was named after his grandmother. In 1973 certain additions were made to the coat of arms and a Royal Warrant was issued by Queen Elizabeth II. The description of the arms is the motto ‘Peace and Prosperity’.

Coat of arms of New South Wales

King Edward VII granted a coat of arms to the State of New South Wales in 1906. The description of the arms embodies the motto Orta Recens Quam Pura Nites (Newly Risen, How Bright Thou Shinest).

Coat of arms of the city of Melbourne

The first arms of Melbourne were granted on January 30, 1940 and are similar to the arms used at present. In the old arms the first quarter showed the whale, the second the fleece, the third the bull and the fourth the ship. The supporters were added in 1970.

The arms are based on the seal used by the city from 1843-1940. The seal showed the same figures in the quarters, but in the sequence as in the present arms.

The cross in the arms is the cross of St. George, the patron saint of England and taken from the English flag. The four symbols in the quarters represent the main activities of which the economy of Melbourne was based in the mid 19th century : whaling, sheep and cattle rearing and processing, and shipping.

The crest shows a kangaroo, an obvious local symbol.

The lion supporters were taken from the arms of Lord Melbourne, Prime Minister of Great Britain, after whom the city was named in 1837. To distinguish the supporters the lions in the arms of the city are augmented with mural crowns.

Coat of arms of Western Australia

Western Australia’s coat of arms had its origins in 1829 when British settlers established the Swan River colony. Their successors adopted an unofficial emblem which featured the black swan and the motto, a Latin pun, Cygnis Insignis (Distinguished for Swans). The coat of arms, which now carries no motto, was given official sanction when Queen Elizabeth II granted arms to the state in 1969.

Coat of arms of Tasmania

The coat of arms of the island state was granted by King George V in 1917 and the description of the arms is the motto, Ubertas et Fidelitas (Fertility and Faithfulness). The supporters of the shield in the arms are two Tasmanian tigers (Thylacinus cynocephalus), which in modern times have been found only in Tasmania and are now presumed extinct.

No comments:

Post a Comment